The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Some mastering for vinyl questions
Old 2 weeks ago
Gear Nut

Some mastering for vinyl questions

I'm new to mastering and have only been done digital work (can't imagine every getting into vinyl cutting and all that) but I've always expected my project to only be digital. One group wants to release something I've already mastered on vinyl. I've seen some folks say that as long as the bass is in phase and isn't crazy subby and there isn't massive sibilance then the digital master should be fine but is there a way to check first or would you only know if the digital master wasn't good enough on the test printing? I don't know enough about the process. Should I have them just send their mix to a vinyl guy to master (along with my master as a reference)? Personally the only vinyl I buy is AAA stuff otherwise I'm totally fine with keeping things digital.
Old 2 weeks ago
Lives for gear

Verified Member
Sibilance and distortion are your enemy. Make sure HF content like excessive SSS does not rise above the mix. If the vocal is somewhat buried but you still hear strong SSS then it's too much.

Don't send flat-topped waveforms. Distortion grows on vinyl. Drop the level, skip the limiter and print. It can be limited during the cut if there would be any advantage, but you don't know cuz you're not cutting it.

Don't sum the bass to mono. DO NOT! Let the cutting engineer deal with LF. The most common LF issue I encounter is simply too much energy in the first two octaves because everyone is working on small speakers and can't hear what's happening down there. Stereo field LF issues are rare. Making your master sound smaller just because you read it on the internet is probably not what's best for the music.

Otherwise, if it sounds good it probably is good.

Who it cutting it? Hire someone you know and trust. A good cutting engineer will send it back if it's not suitable for cutting.

Last edited by Greg Reierson; 2 weeks ago at 08:11 PM..