The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Adding EQ To Previously Mastered Tracks?
Old 1 week ago
Lives for gear
Adding EQ To Previously Mastered Tracks?

Is it possible to add subtle EQ to a song that has already been mastered, without mucking things up?

In this case I want to try and add some subtle high end "sheen". Since the song has already been limited and dithered, would I need to do anything else after the added EQ?

Basically, would re-rendering the file after the added EQ create any strange or unwanted artifacts that I may or "may not" hear?

Marc
Old 1 week ago
ccg
Gear Maniac

Verified Member
Is there a reason you can't send it back to the mastering engineer with that request?
Old 1 week ago
Lives for gear
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccg View Post
Is there a reason you can't send it back to the mastering engineer with that request?
Lol... yes, because I did the mastering! Admittedly I'm not a mastering engineer. I mixed an 8 song album for a client who has no budget for mastering. In order to achieve what I think sounds "mastered", I had to use some analog gear. Recreating the settings in the analog chain will be very time consuming, and this is for my benefit,... to see if I like the masters with more "sheen". I obviously should have printed two versions, but alas I did not.
Old 1 week ago
Lives for gear

Verified Member
Just add the EQ and run it through your safety limiter with no gain. Dither back to your target word length and you should be fine.

Re-dithering on top of noise-shaped dither can sometimes have unpredictable results if the music is very quiet. Otherwise, dither is typically well below audibility on most music. Let your ears be the final judge. If it sounds good it is good.
Old 1 week ago