The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Vinyl pressing plant dictating
Old 3 weeks ago
Gear Nut
Vinyl pressing plant dictating

Just thought I'd share this bizarre story. I did a mastering for a band last year. The album is pretty long so it's a double vinyl for sure. Three sides have a very healthy play time, while one is what I'd call "uncomfortably long", at 25:38. Problem is it's three songs that are joined so it's (artistically) not the easiest thing to alter the track list. It's a doom metal band, so basically all songs are long - the other sides consist of one song per side. It's luckily not very bass-heavy material so while far from ideal it's typically doable.

As always, the band and label were made aware of the issue with the long playing time and still opted to proceed. It's not uncommon that the masterings I work on will exceed 24-25 minutes per side. I always advice on the downsides of long play times and will assist with suggesting alternatives whenever possible. However, every single master I've provided has been printed without any complaints from the pressing plants.

Until now.

The band got back to me a couple of weeks ago, telling me the pressing plant had rejected the side in question and asking me what could be done to fix it. But to make things weirder, the plant had decided to already cut the other three sides! I told the band that the plant should not have proceeded with anything before consulting them or the label first.

After a bunch of back and forth, the pressing plant has agreed to redo all cuts with an alternate master. It's a big compromise for the songs that are joined but if the band oks it, I'll help them out. But the fun doesn't stop there! The pressing plant requires the sides to be no longer than 20 minutes. So I'm now asked to fade out a song basically right in the middle.