The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
MacBook Pro DAW recommendations?
Old 14th July 2019
Lives for gear

Verified Member
MacBook Pro DAW recommendations?

Hey Guys, I’m looking for MacBook Pro recommendations for DAW Mastering.

15” 2014 or newer with the i7 processor.

To run ProTools 12, UAD plugins, etc...

is 2014 too old? Staying Sierra OS if possible.

or are all of the MBPro i7 versions about the same, except for speed?

and USB connect with my Antelope Pure2.

My old Mac Pro Intel towers still work great in the pitch and catch scenario,

but i’m looking to add an update to this decade! :~o)>

Thanks, Jerry T
Old 14th July 2019
Gear Head

Hi Jerry,
I've been using a 2011 MBP 17" 2,2GHz i7 for the past 8 years, Logic Pro X and OSX 10.10.5.
Mostly using DMG plugins like Equilibrium, Multiplicity, Limitless, and Waves PAZ analyser.
All good until the laptop cooling fans would kick in, then imagine a continuous 6-8 kHz laser whine straight into your ears/skull.
A few months ago I got a used MacPro 6-core trashcan, paid about 1500$,
first few days I switched to working on the Macpro I noticed something was missing,
the trashcan is almost totally silent, no more skull piercing scream of the devil !

So you may want to check the SPL levels of the new MBP fans under heavy workload,
and think about being exposed to that for 6-10 hours a day while you are trying to focus on music.
I suppose newer MBP models have less noisy fans than my old 2011 machine, but double check that

All the best,
Gio
Old 15th July 2019
Lives for gear

Verified Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by KK_AM View Post
Hi Jerry,
I've been using a 2011 MBP 17" 2,2GHz i7 for the past 8 years, Logic Pro X and OSX 10.10.5.
Mostly using DMG plugins like Equilibrium, Multiplicity, Limitless, and Waves PAZ analyser.