The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Clipping workflow ideas Dynamics Plugins
Old 1 week ago
Gear Head

Clipping workflow ideas

Hi all!
there are many clipping threads out there but I would have a specific question, if anyone could chime in it would be great.

I have recently started to clip the convertors (Yes I am terribly late ha ha) and I'm loving how it sounds.
I'm new to clipping as I was very dogmatic about "never getting into the red in digital or you will suffer a terrible death beaten up by vikings who will cut your ears off etc etc..." But I have changed my opinion and noticed the benefits of the process.

My question would be:
Once I record the analog chain with my converter clipped (to taste),
I sometimes want to add some extra processing AFTER the chain (an extra db of a narrow cut on some problematic freq etc...), but apart from my final limiter (Limitless) every plugin I put on the recorded file sounds terrible even if I lower it's input or just trim the file's gain into the plugin in order to have a correct gain staging.

That does mean that MEs which use clipping don't process the files further after clipping or there is a right way of doing this?

I could live without doing that but I would appreciate the extra flexibility of working this way as it would allow me to easily recall a session with only the analog part + clipping printed and then allow me for example to set the final loudness for different types of requirement for target releases (Youtube, CD etc etc...) or just make slight changes if needed.

Many thanks! Any suggestion would be greatly appreciated.

My chain is :
Daw Digital processing (corrective EQ, deessing, stereo image manipulation etc)
>Mytek DA
> Analog EQ (2A3, CurveBender, Clariphonic)
>Analog compression (Alan smart C2, API2500, Manley VariMu)
>B2 bomber AD