The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Help Me Make Your Job Easier Single-Channel Preamps
Old 15th January 2019
Lives for gear

Help Me Make Your Job Easier

Hello,

I’m gonna try to make this short and to the point. I’ve been tracking and mixing my own music since 2005ish OTB through a console with VU’s. Reference level of +4 VU or RMS of 1.228 volts. I apply compression all along the way. I prefer soft knee as it’s more natural to my ears and less destructive. 3-5db at tracking. Another 3-5 on the inserts. I set up groups and compress maybe another 3-5 or more and slide the groups in behind the mix of the subs, ie, I’ll solo the individual drum tracks and then slide a compressed sub mix of the drums in behind it. The entire mix goes through an Aphex Compellor where I match levels based on the kick’s peaks which I get within a half dB on the individual track. Ears are the final test but the eyes like to see smooth levels. The struggle is real.

Now to my question. I’m beginning to venture out in the local scene and draw customers in. Please school me on how much compression I should be applying along the way. Generally I compress the mix buss as little as possible. I’m aware I need to leave the mastering engineer room to work I just need some direction on how much.

Brian
Old 15th January 2019
Lives for gear

Verified Member
Post a sample.
Old 4 weeks ago
Lives for gear

Gonna be a couple days. Tried to pull one off my phone but it’s in the notes section and the audio didn’t come over. Tried several ways and it comes up an empty Wav file. I’m a fire fighter by day and on shift for the next 36 hours.

Brian
Old 4 weeks ago
Lives for gear