The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Too accommodating is bad mastering?
Old 2 weeks ago
Lives for gear

Too accommodating is bad mastering?

I worked with an ME one time that would basically do whatever I asked. "Do you want it darker/brighter, louder, more dynamic, etc.?" he asked. By the time we were all done I felt like I mastered it myself - and then I paid him for it! (that's when I started learning how to do my own mastering)

When I hire someone like an ME I expect THEM to make decisions using their expertise and experience.

How do you address the line between being accommodating and doing what YOU think is right?
Old 2 weeks ago
Lives for gear
So you'd be happier if the ME didn't ask you anything and made it brighter and louder than you wanted it?

I don't generally ask clients how they want it, I make it sound good to me and send it off. But if they're not psyched about what I've done in any way, then I'm happy to accommodate them. Sometimes I don't 100% agree with their changes, and if they ask my opinion I'll give it, but if they don't then I keep my mouth shut and do what they want. It's their record.

It's pretty rare that anyone asks for anything totally crazy that I really disagree with. Most of the time it's simple stuff, different tastes. So no problem.
Old 2 weeks ago
Lives for gear

First I send them what I think is best and ask them to let me know how they like it and if they need anything more from me. If they ask for a revision then I accommodate. If they ask for what I think is a terrible revision (rarely happens) then we have a discussion about it. Ultimately it's the client's music and they are paying me so I do what they wish. This process serves to satisfy both the clients who want me to make the decisions and the ones who like to be more involved themselves.
Old 2 weeks ago
Gear Head