The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Dipping a toe into the analog domain... Dynamics Processors (HW)
Old 2 weeks ago
Here for the gear

Dipping a toe into the analog domain...

Hey Folks,

First, some disclaimers. For the sake of discussion, let's assume there is appropriate room treatment, appropriate monitors, and a Lynx Hilo involved in this scenario.

Second, I did a lot of searching, and while I came up with some similar threads, I couldn't seem to locate any specifically in the Mastering sub-forum, and I'm primarily concerned with the expertise here.

Even with that said, I'm still somewhat hesitant to ask this question, as it seems like it would have to have been asked before, but alas, here we are.

I am an amateur ME that often gets paid for his work. So, professional? I'm not sure. Maybe "serious hobbyist" is a more apt description. Mastering fell into my lap about 12 years ago. I was mastering my own music, a handful of people asked who did the work, I said I did, and people started paying me. I absolutely adore the work, and I have the pleasure of getting work in a handful of somewhat niche genres that I really enjoy.

At this point, I'm working entirely ITB, but I'm considering dipping a tentative toe into the analog domain for three primary reasons:

1. While digital is quite surgical, it can also come with the sterility often found in surgical environments. Over the years I have collected some fairly musical plugins, and I'm doing just fine with them, but I do find myself occasionally longing for some subtle saturation, color or even the ethereal, difficult to quantify transparency inherent to high-end analog devices, that just isn't there to be had.