The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Sadie 3 restoration project DAW Software
Old 2 weeks ago
Lives for gear

Verified Member
Sadie 3 restoration project

Hello,

My name is Joe and I'm a mastering engineer.

I started 10 years ago right at the start of the native boom in mastering/music software and am now working mostly ITB despite having owned various hardware analogue and digital units over the years.

I used to share a space with Dallas Simpson, an experience, and now retired, mastering engineer going back to the early 90s and we taught each other all sorts of great information and techniques, although the amount I got from him is undeniably gold compared to my small input.

For years he ran a SADIE 5 native system alongside my Windows 7 machine running various mastering software and we shared a listening position but had completely independent chains.

We had at times borrowed each others set ups for specific projects and worked together where there was a need.

But I never got my head around SADIE, I know what it can do, but I've used Steinberg since my early teens and had no reason to really look into SADIE (as I used Hofa from early on for production masters and DDPs)

Now that all changes because...

I spent 20 quid on a "SADIE DISK EDITOR AND TOWER" (it was actually 1 quid but buy it now 20 quid and the seller kindly had it brought up to Nottingham with her sister).

The story behind this is it was used in an inflight entertainment studio in the mid to late 90s and possibly beyond, to edit dialogue and sounds for airplanes! They would work on one system, make sure it's all on the SCSI drive, take that out and load into this PC where the edits were done. A constantly moving cycle of SCSI (terrifying).

So, I got it, cleaned the case and as much of the contacts as possible.