The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Some questions for Mastering engineers ! Equalizer Plugins
Old 4 weeks ago
Gear Head

Verified Member
Some questions for Mastering engineers !

Hi ! I have some questions for you, the mastering engineers !

I am a music producer and I have hearing loss in the high end, basically my hearing is attenuated in this area and the risk is that I could boost too much the high frequencies to compensate.

I am aware of that, and I am not over boosting my sounds (I will never make a huge boost of 15db on a sound for example), but I don't know how good is my high end area of my mixes.

For this reason, I decided to work with a mastering engineer.

My questions are simple :

1. Can a mastering engineer can act like a safety net and correct my high end (10khz-20khz) to perfection ?

Let's take an example, let's imagine the worst scenario :

I made a mix and in this mix I over boosted some sounds. I am into trance, so here we will say that the cymbal is harsh and the synth lead have too much high frequencies too.

Could a ME correct it easily and bring a good sounding result ?

2. Should I go for stems mastering ? Because, if the ME correct with a single file based mix, the correction he would apply would also affect the other elements of the mix, and it would not be ideal.

So, if I go for stem mastering, could it make the ME able to make precise and even significant changes without affecting the entire mix ?

I hope you can help me !
Old 4 weeks ago
Lives for gear

For me, it kinda depends on how it sounds. If it's just a little out I would try to correct it as transparently as possible. If it's really out, I might talk with you about some adjustments in the mix. If that didn't work then stems might be an option to consider, but for me that's a last, last, last resort. Whatever works best.
Old 4 weeks ago
Motown legend