The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
How does the mastering with analog outboard workflow actually work? Monitor Controllers
Old 11th November 2018
Gear Head

How does the mastering with analog outboard workflow actually work?

I am new to he whole using outboard analog hardware to master workflow,and will be trying it out in a few weeks when my analog unit arrives.I have a dangerous convert ad+ and a convert da.(each unit only has 2 channels of a\d and d\a).........is this enough channels to roundtrip a mix while monitoring it???....or do I have my theory wrong of how it works.....My Theory:I take the bounced stereo audio file and set its output to 1 and 2 (the only outputs I have which is my 2 channel dangerous d\a)2.Then I take the xlr's that are going into my monitors and put them into my input of my analog hardware when I come out of my analog chain I will end up going back into my a\d converter lastly where I have armed a new audio track in protools to record the newly mastered audio back to....which means I still dont have anything going into my monitors to actually hear the results....in this scenario I would need 2 more channels of d\a to do the roundtrip and still monitor it.correct?Or is my theory of how this works wrong?
Old 11th November 2018
Gear Maniac

yes, you need a dedicated dac for monitoring and another for processing.
Old 11th November 2018
Lives for gear
Yes, you need another 2 channels of D/A in order to monitor.
Old 11th November 2018
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by O-dawg View Post