The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Choosing headphone for mastering
Old 31st May 2018
Gear Maniac

Choosing headphone for mastering

Hi
Sorry i'm new to mastering. Currently i master my tracks using ozone 8 (previously ozone 5). I mix and master all ITB, no external hardware. A common home producer.

Since my studio is less than ideal condition, i think it would be a logical choice to do mastering using a good pair of headphones.

I had an r70x for a while now and boy i really loved them. But i think it would not be suffice anytime soon.

So i'm aiming for a true pro grade reference headphone (is r70x could be considered pro grade?).

I planned to buy a used sennheiser hd 800, since the price is cheaper now that the hd 800s is out. Is it still a good choice? Or maybe there are better alternative like hd 700, or models from.beyerdynamic, etc?

Please don't be harsh. I know i don't know anything very much but i'm willing to learn.
Thanks
Old 31st May 2018
Lives for gear
i've always really liked beyerdynamic phones. used them for 20 years now. currently have the dt990 pro and they're terrific.

mastering on headphones is pretty unfun, but if your room is terrible i do think it's better to just use phones.
Old 31st May 2018
Gear Maniac

My room is terrible. No acoustic treatment of any kind and the only speaker i have is hs80. Using focusrite scarlett.
Like i said, a typical home studio condtion.
Old 31st May 2018
Lives for gear
so get yourself a nice pair of headphones and then start saving up for room treatment. that's the smartest money you can spend.
Old 31st May 2018
Gear Maniac
Check out the Audeze LCD-Xs or LCD-4s. As much as I wouldn't recommend mastering on headphones, I know of a few mastering engineers (including myself) that wouldn't be too bothered if they were forced to temporarily work on them only. I love mine.
Old 31st May 2018