The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Baking Tapes ... safely
Old 22nd April 2007
Baking Tapes ... safely

I have a remastering project that involves sticky tapes. Instead of stopping the tape every minute to clean the heads, i think it's best to bake the thing.

Never did that before, but i kinda know the rules (several hours at 120 degrees Fahrenheit, preferably in a convection oven and equal cool down time).

Since a gas oven becomes too hot, it has to be an electric one.
BUT electric heating involves a spiral or coil right? - see where i'm getting at?

So my question is: Should i pack the tape in aluminum foil to protect it from electromagnetic influence of the oven's heat element?

Thanks,
Peter
Old 22nd April 2007
Old 22nd April 2007
Lives for gear

Verified Member
I would recommend using a convection oven. Costs about $200 and after you're done with the tapes makes a nice meatloaf.
Old 22nd April 2007
Thanks for the tips guys.
I will see if i can get hold of that food-dehydrator.
It's claimed to have no electromagnetic disturbance.

Looks like an elegant and safe solution indeed!
thumbsup

Peter
Old 22nd April 2007

Verified Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by finetuner View Post
So my question is: Should i pack the tape in aluminum foil to protect it from electromagnetic influence of the oven's heat element?
The tape needs to breathe and release moisture. I do find the aluminum foil useful to wrap my head at night to keep the alien waves out though.
Old 22nd April 2007
Lives for gear

if it helps. here is an interesting article.

he has successully baked several tapes for me.

Analog Tape Restoration: If I knew you were coming I'd Have Baked a Tape
Old 25th April 2007
Gear Nut

Food dehydrator