The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Interpret Izotope Insight meters Spatial Processor Plugins
Old 10th March 2018
Gear Head

Interpret Izotope Insight meters

Hello there!

I'm a music producer / sound engineer, I think I can handle my mixes well and I've had great feedback on them since a long time ago. But I've been working mostly by ear.

Now I'm making music for a new project that is pretty complex and I want to have not only musical mixes but also scientifically perfect. For that I'm working a lot with Insight by my side, comparing my mixes to others that I admire (I mean looking at their spectrums, scientific approach), all that. I've found many videos/tutorials talking about what Insight can do, but not saying "when this is red it is bad" (well that only with the LUFS, which is just a part of it). I really don't understand some of the features, so maybe some of you gurus can throw some knowledge:

- What is good and bad when looking at the Sound Field meter? I have the idea that when you see something on the sides, kind of like across the X axis, it's not good. But maybe there's no good and wrong. I also have the idea that having a +1 is the best, right? What does that mean? Maybe with this tool I can detect phase issues? How? Since I've been making mostly electronic music I haven't paid that much attention to phase problems because as far as I know that's more related with recordings. But I am going to record for this project.