The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
relationship between mix engineer and mastering engineer.
Old 1 week ago
Gear Head

relationship between mix engineer and mastering engineer.

hi, i'm a mix engineer, it's been just a few months since i started to work with artists.
since my clients are indie artists, they're limited in budget so they always want, and expect me to also master their songs.
so my mixes have never been mastered by mastering engineer.

when i watch interviews of some mix engineers who i really look up to,
they would say something like, 'these days, i use joe la porta to master my mixes',
instead of saying 'these days, i recommend joe la porta to master my mixes'.
i thought it would be the artists, who hires the mastering engineer,
but it sounds like those mix engineers hire mastering engineers.
so, do some mixers include the mastering rates in their rates so the mix engineer would directly pay mastering engineer?
or is it just the way of saying it and they would just say to their clients the mastering engineer they recommend?

i know, it's such a weird question.
Old 1 week ago
I have a lot of mixer clients who I master (at least mostly) all of what they mix.

I'm sure different ones work it different ways, but typically they'll recommend me and make the clients aware of my rates from the outset of the project (on their end).

Some of them deal with me themselves, others just do a quick intro email and let the client handle it. I've made sure to set up my workflow so that anyone who wants to be involved (artist, mixer, producer, label, mgmt) can easily be worked looped into the process, because it's always different.