The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
best limiter for older cd's Dynamics Plugins
Old 3 weeks ago
Here for the gear

best limiter for older cd's

Hi Guys, I'm no mastering engineer. I do however have some older cd's that have never been remastered and would like to at least add a touch of eq and limiter to them to try and bring them up to a modern sounding cd. Not brickwalled or anything, just a bit of mastering to give them some new life. What's a good limiter plugin and doing just that. Fab Filter L, Elephant, Fx by Slate,Limiter6, Sony Oxford Limiter or maybe even PSP Xenon. I'm up for suggestions....something with some good presets would be nice since I'm no expert. Thanks

Duck
Old 3 weeks ago
Gear Maniac

Fabfilter and Voxengo are really good. Now, I wouldn't make them limit more than 2-3 dBs and I wouldn't use any eq. Actually I wouldn't alter anything, even though I could understand you want to get more gain out of older CD tracks.

Why do you want to make older CD's sound modern if I may ask?
Old 3 weeks ago
Here for the gear

thanks, I'm making a greatest hits and the older cd's with the songs I want sound very unmastered compared to the newer ones, im really just trying to make them blend a bit more.
Old 3 weeks ago
Lives for gear

Verified Member
Usually reducing the loudest tracks is better or as equally required as limiting softer tracks, especially as there's likely up to more than 6dB difference involved in this situation.

Do you have iTunes and have you tried its Sound Check function (in preferences)? I'm unsure if that carries through to CD burns or exports (possibly playback only), but if so, and if this is for a one-off for private use, simply rip tracks to iTunes (as wav or Apple Lossless), activate Sound Check (or manually level adjust each under Track Info>Options) and burn to disc or export. Done.