The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Try to get my mind around loudness and its consequence
Old 1 week ago
Here for the gear

Try to get my mind around loudness and its consequence

Hi,

I've spent last days trying to understand how loudness is measured and which tools/techniques should be used.
Since I am a newbie, I would like to double check with you if I got them right.
  1. In a master-ready mix there should be no clipping at all.
  2. In a master-ready mix loudness level is no 100% important, it is more important the dynamic range (peak over RMS). So avoid overcompression in your mix.
  3. Masters that should be played in a streaming service (e.g.: iTunes Radio, Spotify, YouTube...) should have a integrated loudness around -16 LUFS (or -14)
  4. Masters for CD o MP3 have no limitation for loudness, anyway -9 LFUS is considered a good loudness.
  5. Since the limitation of -16 LUFS in many streaming services, it is now (finally) more important to have a good dynamic range over the overall loudness.
  6. LUFS (or better ITU-R BS.1770/EBU R128) uses K-weighted criteria, so it is not necessary to compare loudness measurements made with ITU/EBU and K-System.
  7. Despite RMS is still a good loudness indicator, ITU/EBU loudness should be now preferred.
  8. In mastering stage True peak meter should be always preferred over simple sample peak meter.

Assuming that what I understood is correct , I have some questions about what I've learned:
  1. Since dynamic range is very important, why this information is not always shown clearly (or at all) in most DAWs or meter (for example I cannot find it in Ozone Insight, I can see only in bx_meter)?
  2. Since the dynamic range is computed as peak over RMS, why we do not use a measure that computes true peak over instant loudness? It could be a better indicator, IMHO.