The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Pro-Codec or MasterCheck Pro Metering & Analysis Plugins
Old 23rd November 2016
Gear Nut

Pro-Codec or MasterCheck Pro

I've been reading up on the need to master for iTunes and spotify and various other streaming audio sites and have been looking at the Sonnox Fraunhofer Pro-codec and Nugen Mastercheck Pro plugins. I have a few questions and hoped someone could me help better understand these and which may be a better choice. In particular, do they both cover the same codecs? Since the Sonnox was released around 2011 does it contain all the codecs necessary to meet today's market? Both are on sale and I want to pick one up, just trying to decide which one. I'm a novice but hope to understand these well enough through use to one day publish my music. Thanks for any help.
Old 23rd November 2016
Gear Maniac

Quote:
In particular, do they both cover the same codecs?
I own both plugins. They are somewhat different. MasterCheck Pro doesn't support MP3 auditioning. It's limited to three versions of AAC and Ogg Vorbis. It's focus is delivery Loudness, inherent dynamics, True Peak monitoring, and reference comparisons.

Pro Codec is a robust auditioning tool and encoder. The bundled off-line Pro Codec Manager encoder is stellar.

-paul.
Old 23rd November 2016
Lives for gear

Yeah, I agree that there is not a lot of crossover with these plugins. I also own both.

MasterCheck Pro is great for real-time auditioning the loudness normalization and general encoding quality that Spotify and others are doing, but Pro Codec is great for offline analysis and encoding, plus it's a powerful metadata tool if you need it.

I think you need them both really unless there is ONE specific thing you're looking to do.