The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Need pointers with Jam
Old 22nd January 2007
Gear Nut

Need pointers with Jam

I have a project that I will master in Protools on a mac for a friend, "no budget for a real mastering session,so this ones a freebe" that was due yesterday of course.

I have had Toast 6 with jam for awhile now but have not even had time to install it yet. I will have dithered down to 16/44 to export to Jam. I plan on one Protools session per song and then export.

Can anyone give some pointers on what I need to concentrate on in jam to make the red book?

Maybe like a step by step cheat sheet of things to look for? Thanks,
Old 22nd January 2007
Mastering Moderator

Verified Member
Jam is very similar to Toast and it uses Toast for burning anyway.
It has more features. If I am not mistaken they can both create red book compliant disks.
Jam supports ISRC codes as well as UPC/EAN, CD Text and track offsets.
Jam also has a mini fade editor if I remember well and you can print out a log.

Drag the files into the window, sequence the songs in the desired order, set the pause between tracks and burn.

Maybe one of you that uses it every day can add or correct me.
Old 22nd January 2007
t_d
Lives for gear

Jam makes redbook by default.. so, once you get your tracks in there, you're set to go...

a few things to point out:

- track 1 always has to have a PAUSE of 2sec. (this will be set by default)

- you should UNCHECK "cp" on each track. this is copy protection and may (or may not?) prevent the disc from being duplicated at the plant

- do NOT turn tracks UP in volume with Jam's Gain feature. you can use it to tweak volumes downwards, but don't count on Jam to give you distortion free gain. do any volume adjustments in PT or Peak or whatever, before you bring it into Jam.

- you can add ISRC codes (without hyphens) in Jam and also under Disk Info or somesuch you can imbed the UPC

- you can edit CD TEXT info as well