The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Stem Files for loud masters
Old 21st January 2007
Gear Maniac

Stem Files for loud masters

I know that loud mastering has its drawbacks, but to the average listener, the louder the better. I have yet to meet a fan of music who says this CD is too loud, although I often hear, this CD is to quiet.

My question is, since I am not a Mastering Engineer, when doing such loud masters I find that the drums especially suffer a lot. The snare loses all body(due to the high end boost) and it gets way to quiet compared to the mix(due to compression and limiting). I have now tried 2 different ME's in the city (both are well respected and have done some major mastering work in the city) and when they are done, they are happy, but I find that I cannot live with the snare and how it suffers. I asked how I could improve my mixes to avoid this, and was told by both that my mixes were fine, and this was a result of getting it "Loud".

When I listen to commercial records mastered by the big boys, this result does not happen. The snare is still super beefy and huge (most times).

Can I acheive this result by running a stem file of the snare along with the master?

I am very happy otherwise with the results, although I would rather have a dynamic master, but as an Artist, and Engineer, I have to deliver what the client wants(in this case the client is me)

By the way, it is a rock record with big guitars.
Old 21st January 2007
Lives for gear

Verified Member
Don't bother. The records you are comparing your work to rarely come from stems.
Usually it's just a matter of a good recording, good mix, and good mastering techniques and decisions [it's all subjective of course].