The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Looking for Mastering Engineers to interview
Old 15th January 2007
Here for the gear

Looking for Mastering Engineers to interview

Hi there,

I'm a college student in Nashville, TN, and I'm currently working on my senior thesis research project, which is entitled "Rising Levels in Audio Mastering." I know that this is a topic that has been discussed to death here, but I also know that there are many on this forum that have strong opinions about it. I'm looking to interview mastering engineers, specifically those who were working in the field before the switch to digital, though anyone who wants to participate is very welcome. If you also master vinyl along with digital, your input would be greatly appreciated as well.

If you are interested in participating in this study, you can private message me here, or send an e-mail to domkowskie@pop.belmont.edu and I'll give you the rest of the details.

Thanks!

-Eric Domkowski
Old 15th January 2007
Lives for gear

Verified Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by ericdomk View Post
Hi there,
I'm a college student in Nashville, TN, and I'm currently working on my senior thesis research project, which is entitled "Rising Levels in Audio Mastering."
Your paper is essentially:

Some guy got a digital limiter, and since then audio levels have been rising.

I'm thinking big fonts and really thick paper here.

And footnotes. You're going to need footnotes.

Now, you could interview leading mastering pundits, who would clearly abhor such untoward waveform destructions, and treat it as some sort of un-natural act.

Except when they do it themselves, of course.

DC
Old 15th January 2007
Gear Guru

Verified Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcollins View Post
Your paper is essentially:

Some guy got a digital limiter, and since then audio levels have been rising.