The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Asking Input from Mastering Engineers
Old 4 weeks ago
Lives for gear

Asking Input from Mastering Engineers

Im looking to improve my mixes. Ive been doing this since 2003 but recently just tore apart my technique and am trying to break old habits to be better. I started getting into producing and mixing country/pop music and the reference tracks Im comparing to are just better. So Im deconstructing these songs as much as I can and trying to understand whats happening. Mix engineer advice can only go so far and I know mastering engineers really pay attention to the things I am digging into. So I am coming here to start a discussion. Ill just make bullet points with thoughts and questions.

- Reference tracks have a solid and uncluttered mono mix. So I now mix in mono a lot to make sure my kick, bass, snare, vox dont get muddy. Simple idea and common sense. But whats more interesting is what is happening in the side mix. Ive always mixed in stereo and mono back and forth but when I do, I never soloed side to see what was happening. Now I am.

- The ref tracks have sides that dont have any kick, bass, or snare unless its snare verb. That makes sense. But the sides have a lot of volume in the lows and sub frequencies. Somehow a sparse mix of kick, snare, acoustic, electric, vox will show no kick or snare in the side but these instruments go all the way down to 20hz. That is surprising to me because I always high pass 80-150 on guitars. So where is that coming from?

- I started to look at the above question and then did a lot of MS eq on guitars. Cut lows M and increase the same amount on S. This helped some. I also lowered the high pass or removed it all together. But that idea seems like a bad one. Am I overthinking this or should I be learning more about working like this?