The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Radio Problems
Old 4 weeks ago
Here for the gear

Radio Problems

Hi there,
I'm after some advice /guidance. I'm a DIY musician recording for myself and friends. Recently recorded an EP and mastered it. We were all very happy with the result on both CD and streaming services. However one of the songs got some radio play and it became apparently that it sounded quieter, but not just that, there was a jump in volume during one section of the song and it sounded slightly distorted there.
Now I figure that its not playing nice with the radio compressors. But it's not the sort of thing I can test myself, not owning such a device. So I'm after things to look at to improve myself. I used the Lurssenn Mastering console so I hoped it would take care of this kind of thing. I guess not and must assume that part of my mixing is at fault? But I can't understand why. I don't go crazy with compression and always leave lots of headroom on the master bus when bouncing the PreMaster.
Help!
Old 4 weeks ago
Quote:
However one of the songs got some radio play and it became apparently that it sounded quieter, but not just that, there was a jump in volume during one section of the song and it sounded slightly distorted there.
Do you have a lot of experience mastering?
It just needs to be re-mastered so it p[lays its best on all sound systems, even radio. This separates the pro's form the amateurs. So if you an amateur, i would get it mastered.
There are no set things to do, mastering doesn't work like that. as it needs to be analyzed in a controlled tuned environment and then mastered to what the mastering engineer deems necessary, in order for it to translate well on every sound system.
Old 4 weeks ago
Here for the gear