The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Got my first master back...meh.
Old 13th May 2019
Gear Nut

Got my first master back...meh.

Hey all,

I got a trial master (free) track back from an established engineer who has done big names. Not super big names but I found him cause at least I like the artists he's worked with and they're similar to me. He would be known on this board by many people. It was his idea to do it as a sample.

The track is louder and with improved bass. No other clarity or improvement. No notes or suggestions on the mix, though we discussed this would be something he might do.

This is my first experience with a pro engineer. I guess I expected more. I know mastering isn't magic, but is it normally "here you go"? Especially for a new client?

Let's put it this way. I flip back and forth between my mix and his master, and I'm not sure what I should be hearing, but I don't hear much.

Normal?

RD
Old 13th May 2019
Lives for gear

Is it possible that you sent him a great mix?
Old 13th May 2019
Gear Nut
Quote:
Originally Posted by Romdave View Post
Hey all,

I got a trial master (free) track back from an established engineer who has done big names. Not super big names but I found him cause at least I like the artists he's worked with and they're similar to me. He would be known on this board by many people. It was his idea to do it as a sample.

The track is louder and with improved bass. No other clarity or improvement. No notes or suggestions on the mix, though we discussed this would be something he might do.

This is my first experience with a pro engineer. I guess I expected more. I know mastering isn't magic, but is it normally "here you go"? Especially for a new client?

Let's put it this way. I flip back and forth between my mix and his master, and I'm not sure what I should be hearing, but I don't hear much.

Normal?

RD