The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Mastering--what is it?
Old 6th November 2018
Gear Maniac

Mastering--what is it?

I have spent the last two years learning through experience that 0db on the final mix in the box is too loud. I started using -6db as a benchmark. That was better. I have learned very little about mixing in the last two years, and it has all been hard won.

Now I think I want to master my own tracks. I will proceed by experience, starting from none, except my experience mixing. I am thinking that after my mix is done at a level of about -12db--all tracks, I will then pass the tracks/ groups through compressors and transformers until I can bring final levels up to about -6db. I work in a hybrid way, using the box as a glorified tape machine. I also use a real tape machine, and outboard gear.

How does that sound? Does that make sense as a super basic first idea of mastering? I mean: using compressors and transformers to bring things up in a way that is level?

Some further thoughts: It may just be my ignorance, but over the last two years of experimenting I have grown to dislike most frequencies above, very approximately, 7 or 8k. I always cut 20k. I also don't enjoy peaks. I like to try to mix in a way that sounds like old Van Morrison, even if its a punk track. I can't seem to get it good enough yet, and even my best tracks still are too harsh.

As always, thanks to those who can tolerantly brave my blather

one luv~ b o O m
Old 6th November 2018
Gear Maniac

Are you talking about multitrack mixing/mixdown or are you talking about mastering (= is creating a "master" for the vynil press) ?
Vinyl Mastering | vinyl-record.net EN
Old 6th November 2018
Gear Maniac