The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
mastering for techno on a budget
Old 8th October 2018
Here for the gear

mastering for techno on a budget

Hi all:

I have been producing for about 20 years now. Started at the bottom with hardware that I could afford and later moved up to some more semi-pro level stuff. Now I do everything on the modular; all my music is composed and mixed to stereo there live. During tracking, I use a mild limiter to avoid clipping, otherwise there are no dynamics processing during the mixing/tracking phase. Again, I do my mixes in the modular rack so stereo two-track is what I'm working with.

Long ago I used T-Racks mastering software to pretty good effect. That was my standard for years. Then About 5 or 6 years ago I started with some hardware. Here is my current chain:
  • Chamleon Labs 7720 compressor
  • ART Pro VLA II with Mullard NOS tubes
  • Aphex Dominator 720 multiband brickwall limiter

I also have an Aphex 320 Compellor and a BBE 882 sonic maximizer that I'm currently not using.

Last, I have also done a ton of work using the Waves Multi-Maximizer plug-in. That's how I have mastered probably my last year of work. I'm not sure how I feel about the Wave MM. It does make things loud for sure, but I feel like somehow my mixes are lacking. When I compare to commercial tracks that I admire, I feel like my apparent loudness is still slightly lower (maybe by 1dB?); it's not a ton but it's there. Also I don't feel like I have the clear frequency separation that I hear on the pro mixes. I feel like on the pro mixes, there is a certain 'crispness' to the production that I'm having trouble achieving.