The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Affordable LDC Microphone With Multiple Voicings
Old 14th January 2017
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by doom3crazy View Post
Well and even on top of that, we then get into the whole realm of(and this is something I don't fully understand cause I am still learning) is.....

Tube VS FET

I mean if its 90% performance 10% technique, what warrants a purchase of an expensive a$$ tube mic that takes an hour to warm up vs a fet thats cheaper and works right away?

Or have I hit an exception?

When you find that "magical" mic (be it Tube or FET or even "gasp" Dynamic) that fits your vocal style like a glove and spits out glittery gold sprinkles all over your recordings you will understand what the fuss is all about.

Putting my producer cap on: Music is all about feel and if a mic makes you "feel" a certain way that others don't then everything down the chain will be affected by that.
Old 14th January 2017
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by NEWTON IN ORBIT View Post
U89I is one of the most underrated, best mics on the planet. As is Beyerdynamic MC series.

The attractive thing about the 3u Mics is the price point. When they start getting around 1k, maybe there are other options. I know that is probably OT and a slightly inappropriate thing to say in this thread, but some balance is sometimes ok.

Hell, I loved Ragan's 414 tracks. Good enough for the Beatles and Wings stuff, and many others. C12a and earlier 414's rule on many things.

A great c414 can be had for $700.

Every once in a while, I put one up, and wonder why it gets overlooked?

Hell, that's where some of this OG microphone stuff started. The real deal.
I loved that pair of 414b-ULS. Great mics. I sold them because the Warblers gave me comparable performance (in my opinion) for less money. I have to be mercenary about my gear because I have a pretty limited budget. That's why I've loaded up on 3U stuff.