The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
opinions on Samson 7kit drum mic package? and indie rock drum sound questions
Old 17th December 2006
Gear Addict

opinions on Samson 7kit drum mic package? and indie rock drum sound questions

Hey all! I'm new to this forum (JUST found it).... HUGE! Lots of info. You people seem awesome.

So yeah.... I've been recording solo music since 1992. I've since upgraded lots of equipment, and am just now getting into recording acoustic drums, whereas before I programmed them or played my Roland V-drum kit.

So... I've read great reviews on the Samson 7-kit drum mic package. It's 5 regular mics and two condensers for overheads. Comes with case and clamps for the kit. $250.

Sure, that's a low price... but, I've read nothing but great reviews on it.

So... what's your opinion?

--------------------------------------

Oh yeah.. and.....

I LOVE warm/airy snare drums. What helps to get this sound? I'm talking about "Yellow" by Coldplay, the entire first album by indie band Denali (LOVE that snare), the 2nd Mysteries of Life album "Come Clean", and Jimmy Eat World's snare.... on Bleed American and Futures, which is the best damn snare, ever.

Any advice?

THANKS so much!

-Chris in suburban Philly
Old 17th December 2006
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by themixtape View Post
Hey all! I'm new to this forum (JUST found it).... HUGE! Lots of info. You people seem awesome.

So yeah.... I've been recording solo music since 1992. I've since upgraded lots of equipment, and am just now getting into recording acoustic drums, whereas before I programmed them or played my Roland V-drum kit.

So... I've read great reviews on the Samson 7-kit drum mic package. It's 5 regular mics and two condensers for overheads. Comes with case and clamps for the kit. $250.

Sure, that's a low price... but, I've read nothing but great reviews on it.

So... what's your opinion?