The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
JBL Control 2P vs LSR305
Old 26th February 2014
Here for the gear

JBL Control 2P vs LSR305

I'm sorry to throw another "VS" thread out, especially as my first thread. But I'm stuck in my research and need an opinion.

I'm a programmer and not an artist. I could not find middle C to save my life. My hats off to all of the artists here; you make life fun and not so boring.

What I do know is that I am not appreciating sound as much as I could be. I do some basic music listening. But what is driving me most to have better audio quality is listening to ham radio and radio scanners.

Bob Heil does a webcast called Ham Nation and he really inspired me to learn more about sound. I've long had a Heil microphone in my ham radio setup.

I often listen to many radios at once, local police, fire and ham radio. I'm sick of the cheap speakers at different listening locations. I picked a Mackie 1402 VLZ to take care of equalization, levels and panning.

For the speakers I plan on just placing them on my desk on each side of the computer monitors. Desk space is a concern. It's a 12x12 foot room with wood floors and no sound treatments.

The JBL Control 2PS look like the perfect solution. Even Bob Heil uses them in his ham setup. I would have already pulled the trigger and bought a pair.

But then comes along the JBL LSR 305 currently on sale at $225 for a pair. They look truly awesome and nothing but rave reviews.

The $20 price difference is a non-issue. But for me, mainly listening to just voice, would the LSR 305's be practical? Seems like the LSR 305's are in a different league and I'm crossing the line into the pro world?

The C2P's come with desk stands. Would a pad and/or stand really be needed for low volume listening on the LSR 305's? Could the LSR 305's be the better choice because of the expanded sound field?