The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
20K Boost
Old 23rd October 2013
Gear Head

20K Boost

What's up guys, I searched the forum and did not find "this specific" question so here goes. I'm not a pro but not new to recording. Has anyone actually boosted at 20K? My A-Designs EM-PEQ has 20K and I don't know of any reason why I would need to boost at 20K. Have any of you boosted at 20K and why?

Thanks guys!
Old 23rd October 2013
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by FeelTrip View Post
What's up guys, I searched the forum and did not find "this specific" question so here goes. I'm not a pro but not new to recording. Has anyone actually boosted at 20K? My A-Designs EM-PEQ has 20K and I don't know of any reason why I would need to boost at 20K. Have any of you boosted at 20K and why?

Thanks guys!
Boosting at 20k is really useful if you are trying to get the attention of the canines in the audience!

(cue the barking of dogs)
Old 23rd October 2013
Gear Head

Quote:
Originally Posted by guitarmax_99 View Post
Boosting at 20k is really useful if you are trying to get the attention of the canines in the audience!

(cue the barking of dogs)
That's what I was thinking too. So why would they include that on their gear I wonder?
Old 23rd October 2013
Lives for gear

Boosting at 20K on some units affects the other bands, though.
Old 23rd October 2013
Lives for gear

I work in voice over, and a 20k boost can, if everything else is in order, add an incredible sizzle and sense of depth, but only with the right voices. I'm talkin of the lowest male voices, like the stereotype of a movie trailer vocal. I have never heard it do nice things to a female voice, though. Trust me, it works, and seems to give an added presence all the way down to the mids.

But the key is knowing how, when, and to have the good judgment to avoid overdoing it. I am sure it has similar uses musically, but that is outside my realm.