The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Mic: To Mod or Not To Mod -- That is the question.
Old 18th October 2013
Gear Nut

Mic: To Mod or Not To Mod -- That is the question.

Ok, I haven't messed with recording for a while and want to get back into doing a home studio for myself not as a profession. A few yrs back I had an ADAT fed by a Tascam M208 mix, Yamaha SPX90II, RAIA Tube pre and most of the recording was done with a 90's AKG C414 ULS.

I want to do more band recording. Live and piece meal. I still have the AKG 414, 3- 57's, 1-58, 1-Beta 58A, 3- EV PL80a, EV RE-10, Senn e835.

All except the 414 are used for playing live and some should be OK for micing instruments but I'd like to get another vocal mic to record with as my new setup is through a DAW and I'd like to have more than just the 414 to record vocals with. Mine and others.

I used to be a tech before I went into the owner/mgr side and have built Guitar tube amps from scratch and rebuilt a number of others and I'm still using them.
I've also done work on SMT components at board level with just a regular soldering iron and a magnifier so I do know my way around a bench.
I also still have a bench setup, that I need to reassemble as soon as my jam room/studio is finished, consisting of a Scope, Audio Gen., 8 Ohm Load, Frequency Counter, AC/Distortion meter, variac, etc....

Sorry for the loooong intro. If I don't want to spend any more than $250 on another mic am I better off buying one of the less expensive mic's and modding it and if so which one? If I had to pick a voice I'd say I'm closest to sounding like McCartney in range and timbre.

There are a lot of choices to mod: Apex 460 and rebrands, Oktava 219 & 319, MCA SP-1, CAD MXL3000, etc.
Then there are the mic's that some say are pretty good out of the box: MXL2003a, AT4033, KEL HM-2D, MXL 960, RE20, MD421 etc.