The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
versatile affordable recording mic
Old 13th October 2013
Gear Nut

versatile affordable recording mic

hey guys,
i am looking for an affordable/versatile mic. my main uses for it will be vocals and guitars. mainly vocals and acoustic guitars, but being able to also record electric/distorted guitars would be ideal. Someone had recommended me the studio projects B1 microphone, and said it can do all of the above, and do it well. thoughts and recommendations? i'm pretty new to home recording, and this will be my first microphone. thanks!
Old 13th October 2013
Gear Nut
Audio Technica 4033. It's a must have in anybodys mic locker. Especially great on acoustics and very good on vocals.
Old 13th October 2013
Lives for gear

CAD M179 is a very versatile inexpensive mic and would be my recommendation. Shure SM57 is another good choice.
Old 14th October 2013

Get a pair of m179.

If it doesn't suit your voice, start trying other mics specifically for your voice.

The M179 won't suck on voice.

-tINY

Old 14th October 2013
Gear Addict

Shure KSM32. Great on vocals, amazing on acoustic guitar. Could work for electric guitar, but I personally haven't tried it. Pretty inexpensive, but it'll last you for a long time. Also +1 to the 4033, but I prefer the 4050 since you can change the polar patterns if you want.
Old 14th October 2013
Lives for gear

Dynamics are versatile and affordable.

Stick with Beyerdynamic: M201 or M88

The M88 is a great vox mic too, that sounds a bit condenser-ish.
Old 14th October 2013
TNA
Gear Maniac