The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Best value for $2000? Trying to round out my setup...
Old 12th October 2013
Gear Head

Best value for $2000? Trying to round out my setup...

Now that I've settled in to Nashville, I'm trying to build a nice setup that has some long-term value. This is what I currently have:

M-Audio FastTrack Pro USB Interace
Tascam DP008 PocketStudio
Blue Encore 300
Blue Baby Bottle
SM57
MIDI Keyboard
i5 3570k (16G of Ram) - Running Reaper
Studio Projects VTB1
AKG M70 Headphones

I work in a small bedroom space now, using a MIDI drumkit that samples Drumkit From Hell. I have a weighted MIDI keyboard that I use for piano/synth parts. For bass I'm doing DI. Guitar-wise, I've got a fantastic setup and I mic that.

I'll be remodeling in the summer for a dedicated space that will converted to a good size home studio. I'm a game programmer and I'm trying to get back into music production for games, as well as have the capability for recording country/blues/jazz/rock music (my weekend work). I'm trying to put together some value in the gear I purchase over the next year so that I can have something workable immediately, while improving the chain for when I have the real studio area built. I've been doing audio projects as a hobby for about a decade now, but I spent 4.5 years in the Army and am not really up on all my new options.

I've got $2k right now, and will add about a grand every three months. I know I need monitors, and having tried a bunch out, I was looking at the Adam A7Xs. I can get a used pair of F7s for $500, or I can hunt for a used pair of A7Xs for about $1000. While the A7Xs sound better, there isn't the same huge leap between the F5s and the F7s as there is in the F7 and A7X (to my ears).