The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Need a laptop for music recording music
Old 12th September 2013
Gear Nut

Need a laptop for music recording music

I need a laptop for recording music suggestions for under 1000$
Old 12th September 2013
Gear Maniac

Its not so much the brand but the specs. You want lots of RAM (min 4GB), and a fast processor. More RAM the better, especially if you will be running lots of plug-ins and VSTs. Also depends on what recording software you use as some on only available on Mac or PC
Old 12th September 2013
Lives for gear

In December last year I bought a cheap laptop for grins, just to have a simple portable rig. Less than $400. An Acer Aspire 5750-6461. Much to my surprise I'm doing most of my tracking with this thing now. Didn't plan it that way to be honest with you. One of the best things that ever happened to me by accident.

BTW, I bought an Aspire specifically because I'd always had great experiences with them when I worked in the communications field. I liked that series because it doesn't come with a bunch of bundled crap to hog system resources. Far easier to setup for audio than a lot of other brands and model's.
Old 12th September 2013
Lives for gear

I only buy Dell business class machines. They are durable and repairable. Never been a bad decision. I get them off outlet.dell.com -- these are off-lease and warranty repair machines. A lot lower price than new. So I would buy a Latitude laptop -- those are business class. They also don't come with a bunch of pre-installed junkware to slow down the processor.

I have a friend with a low-end laptop. I think it's an i5 processor. With the Kontakt plugin and a few instruments, the processor is maxed out. But for just recording almost anything will work.
Old 12th September 2013
Gear Addict

Quote:
Originally Posted by TurboJets View Post