The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
When does it quit being low end?
Old 23rd May 2006
Here for the gear

When does it quit being low end?

Hi everyone! Total noobula here. (be easy if you will)

i have been working at recording and mixing for a while (a couple of years) and although everyone says the B word is crap, it would seem that for the bux it seems to work ok. i was looking to improve a few things and began working as an assistant with a person more experienced than me that has all of the toys and it seems if the mix and master is going to be compressed anyway, i can't tell that much difference between the boutique stuff and what i was able to afford. i did a mix that was also mixed in a nicer facility and even though they are different, one does not really sound much better than the other.

me= 5000.00 in gear, 2 years experience
nicer facility= 300000.00 in gear 20+ years experience.

i admit the nicer facility can do much more and more choices, more experiences fromthe choices but the focus of the music does not sound anybetter, to me it is more clustered up. (you can't pick out the instruments as well)

all my friends seem to pick my cheezy mix b'cause it is louder and you can hear the drums, guitars and words better.

Question,
when does it go from low end to high end, is it all about money?

just b'cause my friends like the mixes i did and so does the band, does this mean i need to get a backer to be taken serious (b'cause i am not taken serious at all, they get the bux, i work with **** bands (oy)

disclaimer:
I barely know what i am doing
Old 23rd May 2006

Tools are tools. Sometimes a cheap wrench works just as well as a snap-on model.

The truth is that most pop music doesn't need much that's too fancy.

Where the cheapest stuff isn't as good is durability - You may have to buy another cheap mixer in 3-5 years, but the one that costs twice as much typically lasts a lot longer (or can be repaired a lot easier).

-tINY

Old 23rd May 2006
Lives for gear