The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
first monitors - search function wasn't too helpfull
Old 15th May 2006
Here for the gear

first monitors - search function wasn't too helpfull

Hi everyone!

My first post, but I've alreday learnt alot in here.
I want to purchase a pair of monitors to judge on my mixes.
Mostly bass heavy music since I like Synth and hitting drums very much. Genre would be electronic and rap music.

I've narrowed it down to the Fostex pm-2, Event 20/20 (passive).
Why? because I want to have 8' speakers for the bass.

I'm not sure wether I should go with active boxes or passive ones.
The active ones have built in limiters and one of my biggest fears is destroying my new monitors. I have safed my money for too long.
I'm a student yet I can't afford to buy too big euipment yet, but really CANT afford to buy bad stuff, since I later on have to buy better stuff again!

I recently read some equipment hints on hiphopgame.com by an engineer called Dr.No, and he warnt somebody to buy monitors with low freq Limiters, because the cut off too much. But then again, what are they for anyway?
http://www.hiphopgame.com/index2.php3?page=askdrno

I already tried to get some infos on the pm-2 boxes via your search-function but wasnt too lucky with this.

20/20bas boxes are too expensive, and so are asp8s and 824s.
Or are the ones I choose really that bad, that I really should save my money until I can afford those other ones?

Is it okay to go with the passive 20/20s?

Greetings from germany

Daniel :-)

ps: Oh yeah, I just wrote an email to Fostex(the german distributor) this morning, asking them what the technical difference between the pm-2 and the pm-2 mkII is...
their Replie, nothing except for the piano-paint!

Quote:
"Sehr geehrter Herr M.......,
die technischen Daten des Fostex PM2 MKII sind identisch mit denen des erfolgreichen Vorgängers. Neu ist lediglich die Klavierlack-Optik.