The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Which pre for direct out Line 6 recording
Old 8th May 2006
Here for the gear

Which pre for direct out Line 6 recording

Hi Guys,
I am working on a media project, where I will be recording my Line 6 Pod Pro, and Pod Pro XT. I will be recording direct only (no mics on cabs etc) so I want to try and achieve a good recorded result, enhancing the tone and perhaps coloring the guitar sounds.

I am a session guitarist, and play many styles, from jazz to metal. Lot of instrumental rock as well, so recording distorted tones will be a major factor. In other words, I don't neccassarily need the type of sound that would be suitable for nylon acoustics etc.....

My main question is not so concerned with what mic pre (although advice will certainly be appreciated) but a seperate area. As I will be recording distorted tones, I am debating making the dual mic a tube mic pre. It seems there are Tube and Toob pre's out there. My thinking is that a decent tube dual pre would be an advantage in direct recording to capture more of the 'dirt' a mic'd cabinet cranked would achieve (recreate even order harmonics etc)

So with all this in mind, I have considered everything from 2 VTB-1's, soon to be released GT SUPre and non tube units like the dual Avalon U5's, a Vintech 1272 etc..... In particular, the color of the U5 would be good to get thoughts on

Thanks guys, really will appreciate your thoughts!!
Old 8th May 2006
Lives for gear

um... it's a little pricier than what you had mentioned, but maybe skip the pre's and go for a distressor? That's really just speculation, I wouldn't know from having done it, but it sounds right to me.
Old 8th May 2006
Lives for gear

The Supre might make an interesting choice.
For cheaper, Groove Tubes Brick does a nice job.
However, I think whatever warmth that you believe will be imparted will be lost in the digital distortion of the POD.