The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Producer setup - Interface question Audio Interfaces
Old 13th September 2011
Here for the gear

Producer setup - Interface question

Hi all,

I wont bore you with same old silly questions (ill try anyways)

Here's my situation -

- Im a producer. Cubase/Reason/VSTs Do not record vox at my studio
- External Setup consists of an MPC 1000, turntables/mixer, a synth or two
- Mostly in the box

Simple!

I need the following from an interface:

- Front panel headphone out with gain control
- Front panel monitor out control pot
- Software mixing capabilites (i dont have a desk)
- At least 8 inputs (outputs not as important)
- Metering for inputs on front panel with adjustable trims
- MIDI I/O for my MPC to control reason if i need it
- Good clean A/D for its class

Im looking at the RME fireface 400. Echo Audio units dont have any front panel business, so not really an option. I was leaning towards a Focusrite saffire but was told their A/D is no good. I can get a really good price on focusrite, but have a bad feeling.

Would you guys recommend the RME? Recordings are mostly out of my MPC (6 outs) and synth. I want something that'll last me a while and that gives me the best recordings for my price range. ($1000 - hopefully less). I do a lot of mixing too...

Also, I run a Windows 7 environment. I have a pretty new motherboard with Firewire and USB support. I would rather go for the fireface 400 as firewire is faster, and it looks like the only diff between the UC and 400 is USB/Firewire. Any thoughts on that? I would've thought USB 2.0 would lose over firewire any day...

Thanks guys. Im pretty much after a quick response - "get the RME" , "rather get a focusrite" etc etc. Dont wanna waste your time. I know how many of these posts there are out there.

Bigup
Whitenite
Old 13th September 2011
Lives for gear