The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Tube Compressor -Is it really necessary? Dynamics Processors (HW)
Old 12th September 2011
Lives for gear

Tube Compressor -Is it really necessary?

Hello Gear Slutz, first time poster here.

I'm a guitarist and singer who's been struggling with getting a professional sound for many long years now. I recently came to the conclusion that I was going to forget trying to do polished, multi-layered recordings for the time being and just cut a barebones, one-track "live" acoustic album so I can go back to focusing on writing new stuff.

My decision to do an acoustic album was partly because I finally hit on a combination of gear that works for me for this type of setup: I use a Rode NT1000 2 feet in front of me and a Shiny Box ribbon two feet to the right of my shoulder, off axis. I run them through Mackie Vlz3's and through the Sonalksis Stereo Imaging tool, using the Mid-Side setting.. Occassionally, I'll also bring in an SM7b and put it right in front of me to better pick up the voice over the guitar.

Everything sounds lovely, except...out of curiousity, the other day I ran my Mackie mixer into a Behringer Composer Pro just before going into the soundcard, and discovered I loved it! The only problem is, it adds an audible hiss to the chain.

Now, I know compressors generally do this a little, since they allow you to raise the overall signal level, but I'm sure too that Behringer's stuff is made with cheapo parts, which I fear might also contribute to it. Still, this little box makes all the difference for me and I'd hate to give it up unless I knew of a better choice. It really brings out the presence in the guitar and my voice. It doesn't seem to really "compress" all that much though; I'm wondering if I wouldn't like something with a little more oomph to it.