The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Seeking opinions on inexpensive microphone selection. Condenser Microphones
Old 12th September 2011
Here for the gear

Seeking opinions on inexpensive microphone selection.

Apologies in advance if this is the wrong section for this.

I'm currently an amateur voiceover artist, looking to take my game to the next level. Naturally, a microphone upgrade is called for.

I've been using a Samson C01U USB for the past year. Here's a sample recording to give you folks an idea of where my vocal registry falls.

Sample.mp3 - File Shared from Box.net - Free Online File Storage

What I'm looking for is an XLR microphone (preferably condenser) that has a good medium & low end, and will give me a full-bodied, rich tone, to accent my naturally lower range. I'm currently surviving on minimum wage paychecks, so my price range lies between $200 and $300. The preamp I'll be using will be an Art Tube MP Project USB that a friend is going to send me. ART Tube MP Project Series USB | Sweetwater.com

All this in mind, what microphones would you folks recommend? The ones I'm currently looking at the most are the AKG Perception 220/420, and the Studio Projects C-1, but have heard differing testimony on both.

I am, of course, open to other microphone suggestions as well.
Old 12th September 2011
Gear Head
For a full-bodied rich tone, you should maybe consider a ribbon mic. In Europe Thomann.de sells some decent ones (considering the price) that are cheaper than 100€ - but don't forget a pop-filter if you haven't got one already. Also, don't forget what a (multiband) compressor can do for your voice.

Good luck.
Old 12th September 2011
Lives for gear

Check out the Sennhieser MD421.
Old 12th September 2011
Lives for gear