The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Headphones for accurate production <$300 Studio Headphones
Old 8th September 2011
Here for the gear
Headphones for accurate production <$300

I'm a little confused, which is why I'm creating a new thread. All the other threads I looked at via searches on this subject referred to tracking, mastering, monitoring, etc. Maybe I'm confused on my terms, but I just want the best pair of headphones for music production--not necessarily mastering in in-studio monitoring, etc., but not just casual listening either. I want as fine and balanced detail as possible.

I'm a beginner with a budget setup (Maschine + Axiom 49 + Macbook) and just make beats/music for personal enjoyment. I have plans to get more serious with it in the near future though (soon getting a degree in professional music production), so I need something that will continue to suit my headphone needs going into that as well. I'll worry about true monitors for mastering at a later point. Anyway, so exactly what I'm looking for:

Budget: Less than $300 (preferably less than $200).
Uses: Accurate production/creation, casual listening (both).
Input equipment: Maschine + old gen Macbook for production (will be upgrading to a new MB Pro later on). I also exclusively use my laptop for my at-home casual listening, via iTunes.
Priorities/Needs: Comfort (I have a slightly larger head), accuracy, durability, style. In that order.
Music preference: I predominantly produce and listen to hip-hop based music, but not exclusively and do still like balance. I LOVE fine/subtle nuances in my music, especially when creating, so I need to be able to hear them.
Possibilities: Shure SRH840s? Beyerdynamic 880s? Sony 7509 or 900s? Something else ... ?