The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
First Home Studio; How should I connect my gear, to get best results? Audio Interfaces
Old 31st August 2011
Here for the gear

First Home Studio; How should I connect my gear, to get best results?

Hello everyone, thanks for looking at my thread.

I am a Music student, and I am in the process of setting up my first home studio. The core part of my set-up consists of;

- MacBook Pro 2GHz Intel Core i7, 8GB RAM
- Logic Studio 9
- Mackie 1402 VLZ3 mixer
- KRK Rokit g2 8's (monitors)

I have literally just bought all of this gear over the last month or so, so now, I need to connect it all together, and I am wondering what the best why to do this will be.

I will be writing a lot of electronic music using Logic, but I will also be recording guitar and vocals through my mixer (obviously using a mic).

I have read so many articles regarding the different ways you can record in a small studio set-up like I have, that my mind is a bit fried at the moment, so I am looking for someone to put it in clear english the options I have.

Should I be connecting my mackie to my KRK's using XLR, or TRS, or RCA cables?

Should I connect my mackie to my macbook, via the mackies Alt outputs --- into my macbooks audio input. If so, is there an obvious cable to use in order to do this?

Then, do I connect a cable from the audio output of my Macbook ---- into my mixer?

I dont have much experience of using small mixers, so it would be great if anybody could give me a bit of guidance, and explain the signal pathway I should use

Thanks for looking!
Old 31st August 2011
Here for the gear

Use xlrs. RCA is unbalanced.
Old 31st August 2011
Here for the gear

what type of interface are you using?
Old 31st August 2011
Gear Head