The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
studio design help needed
Old 26th July 2003
Lives for gear

studio design help needed

Ok, so I'm in need of your immense experience and creativity. I saw you guys do some cool ideas for a guy's studio space awhile back, but it was a little different than this.

So, I'm thinking of building a pro project studio in my garage. I'm a producer/writer/programmer/mixer. So, for me it's much more about the control room than the tracking space. I will however, need a booth where I'll do mostly vocals, but also acoustic guitars, guitar amps, and in a pinch drums (but obviously I don't want a big tracking room to really do them "right"). It's your basic 20'x20' box, totally unfinished, cement floor, and pretty good ceiling height (Around 10' for most, with an area in diagram's upper left corner where it goes way up... 2 stories worth.

As it's a residential area, and my wife stays at home with my son, isolation is crucial, both to and from the house and to and from the neighbors.

I work in ProTools, and at the moment, all in the box, no console (but of course, as $$ permits, my analog racks will be growing). My rig, with my MIDI controller keyboard and speakers included fits in a box about 9'x12', but that doesn't include space behind me for a couch or anything that'd I'd like. The window to the tracking area can be to my front or off to either side... front is best, then my left, then my right. No soffit speakers now, but wouldn't mind the option down the road. I want a machine closet near the front of the room, but outside the walls, for my 3 CPUs and hard drives, and whatnot that's cooled with the same A/C system as the rooms.

I'd like a small lounge/entry area, so that when you come in the space from the outside you're not walking right into the control room.