The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
First Post not sure this is the place Effects Pedals, Units & Accessories
Old 31st December 2010
Here for the gear

First Post not sure this is the place

Hi Folks,

This is my first post. I am new to recording. I play guitar, keyboards, bass. Wish I played drums! Here is the gear I have so far and I want to use for my own amusement and amazement. Sonar 8.5, ADAM-A7 monitors, M-Audio profire2626, SM57,58,beta 87, low end Tube mike Sterling ST69. Looking for a tube pre but do not know what to buy. I just jumped in and got some stuff without any advice. MIDI is giving me the most trouble, stuck notes ect.
The question I have is can I make descent recordings with this equipment and can anyone recommend a pre around $1000.00? Also is any of this gear something I should just dump from the start?

Last edited by Billy Simmons; 31st December 2010 at 07:18 PM.. Reason: Forgot something
Old 31st December 2010
Lives for gear

Your gear is more than good enough. Start recording before even thinking of spending another dime.
Old 31st December 2010
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chrisc_o View Post
Your gear is more than good enough. Start recording before even thinking of spending another dime.
Agreed. What makes you think you need to spend $1,000 on a tube pre?
Old 31st December 2010
Here for the gear

Thanks guys for the feedback. The $1000. was just a "number" I have no clear idea about the pre. The recording I have made to date are ok I guess. As I record more I am finding ways to make it better, not the least of which is better playing. One thing that got my attention is how well it records my scew ups!!
Old 31st December 2010
Lives for gear