The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
$500. Need sound card, mic, accessories from Guitar Center. Newbie here! Audio Interfaces
Old 30th December 2010
Here for the gear

$500. Need sound card, mic, accessories from Guitar Center. Newbie here!

Hey guys. I'll start by mentioning I don't really know anything about recording, but seeing how good my friend could make my music sound made me want to buy some recording gear haha. He referred me to this forum for suggestions on what to buy.

So the Guitar Center is doing this thing where if you spend at least $499, you get $100 off. Sounds pretty good to me.

I'm about to drop at least $500. Maybe a little more if necessary but lets say for now this is my budget (If it's REALLY worth it, I can go over). Could someone link me what I should buy from www.guitarcenter.com? I am assuming the basics are a sound card/interface and a mic, but again, I'm just assuming! Also, if the Guitar Center is just overpriced to begin with and not worth the $100 off, then just let me know and link me something else.

I just need stuff to record guitar (most acoustic) and vocals. That's about it. Nothing fancy. Just for things like songs and covers to put on facebook and YouTube and whatnot.

Please also let me know about any cables I might need. I'm a total beginner here!

Thank you very much for your time!

EDIT: What I already have:
- Nice laptop
- Cakewalk Sonar
- Nice speakers
- Nice headphones
Old 30th December 2010
Lives for gear
yeah, don't go buying anything just yet. Read up a little on what you're about to own. Those GC promos will come and go and the gear you want will more or less still cost the same.

With that said: