The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Monitor + Audio interface Audio Interfaces
Old 27th December 2010
Here for the gear

Monitor + Audio interface

Hello, im new here but im reading this forum for like 1 month now.

I love producing music, specially electronic music like trance.

I want to make a bigger step in my productions, so i want to get monitors and audio interface.

The big problem is, im studying right now far away from any main-city.

The only near city where i can check out some monitors is 5hours away, and there they have very poor equipment, not what im searching for.

After searching a lot here, im pretty sure this is what im looking for:

Adam a7x
Adam a5x
Yamaha HS80M

I cant listen to them, its really imposible, so i need some advice.

I know the yamahas are the worst, i now also the a5x are very clear with waker low end, and the a7x are the best of this bundle.

if someone could tell me if the differnce between them is so big.

the other thing is audio interface, im not sure what to buy.

I prefer usb, i have no pci slot, and i have no experience with firewire.

I use win7 64bit.

So, i found this in my research:

NI Audio Kontrol 1
Steinberg CI2
M-Audio Fast Track Pro
Lexicon i-onix 22

I only need good sound quality, and perhaps a mic slot. I dont use anything more right now and dont plan to add anything in the future.

Another question, i searched something about hardware and software free latency monitoring, i didnt find any answer. what is booth? do i need that?

Thank you a lot, and sorry for wasting your time with that noobie questions.
Old 27th December 2010
Gear Maniac