The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Alright fellow cheapies, finally going to buy a set-up Studio Monitors
Old 27th December 2010
Gear Nut

Alright fellow cheapies, finally going to buy a set-up

Hey fellow low-end theory slutz, I finally got some cash together and decided to put together my first "real" set-up. Being a poor college student, I'm going to do it on the cheap, so -

First question.
I have 3 different monitor pairs that I am looking at. Here are the links.
Buy Fostex PM0.4 Powered Studio Monitors - Pair | Powered Monitors | Musician's Friend

Buy M-Audio Studiophile AV 40 Powered Reference Speaker System pair | Powered Monitors | Musician's Friend

Buy Behringer MS16 Active Personal Monitor System | Powered Monitors | Musician's Friend

Honestly, to me, they all look about the same, which leads me to think I should just get the Behringer's. I know there will be a bunch of people saying "don't get any of those, they all suck" but sorry guys, I really can't afford much else

For interface, I have a couple in mind, but really I have some questions about them. Firstly, here are the links of the 2 I had in mind.

Buy TASCAM US-1641 USB 2.0 Audio/MIDI Computer Interface | Audio Interfaces | Musician's Friend

Buy M-Audio Fast Track Ultra USB 2.0 Audio Interface | Audio Interfaces | Musician's Friend

Now, here is my question. The TASCAM is a 16x4. Does this mean that I can record 16 tracks at once, but it will only show up on my DAW as 4? I guess I don't exactly get what that means.

Sorry for the novel, but can anyone help me pick out some monitors and then help me with the interface question I have? Thanks everyone thumbsup
Old 27th December 2010
Gear Maniac

16x4 means 16 ins and 4 analog outs, this means you can have 2 pairs of speakers but all 16 tracks will show up separately on your computer