The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Building My Home Studio - What can I buy with my remaining $350 Condenser Microphones
Old 25th December 2010
Gear Nut

Question Building My Home Studio - What can I buy with my remaining $350

Right now I have:

Yamaha Audiogram6
MXL 990s (the "S" is very important)
Shure SM58
Yamaha YPG-635
Bose Headphones

Okay - So I am a noob...

My main question is - what should I buy to upgrade my studio with my $350?

Also I have access to Pro Tools/Sonar/Ableton Live/Reason... The software is going to be given to me as a gift - I know that if I use Pro Tools I'll have to buy a new interface though... Is it worth it?

But again - what should I buy with my $350 that will benefit me the most?

As far as monitors I've been looking at Alesis M1 Active m2k Biamp Monitors
Alesis M1 Active mk2 Biamp Monitors at zZounds

# I record Pop/Acoustic stuff. I like to record audio not midi. So I make/play my track. Then I lay down the Vocals. - Singing is my main thing.

Thanks a lot for the replies.
Old 25th December 2010
Gear Addict

Get this...

Pro Audio DSP

Incredible.
Old 25th December 2010
Gear Addict

Old 25th December 2010
Old 25th December 2010
Gear Head

Acoustic Panels! Not the cheap foam stuff. I've built 6 panels for under $100 (rockboard 60 for absorption material, muslin (at .75 a yard) and furring strips for the wood) Putting just a single panel in one of the corners of my room, I noticed a marked inprovement! Then sell those bose headphones, and use that and the rest of you budget to buy some good used monitors (krk 6000's come to mind).
My 2 cents...
Old 25th December 2010
Gear Nut

Hey bud!