The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Connecting toft atb to my Daw ?
Old 19th December 2010
Gear Maniac
Connecting toft atb to my Daw ?

Hi guys

I am new to recording OTB and am a little unsure of the easiest way to connect to and from my daw. I want to record from the desks preamps so i should i go through the desk then come out of the 8 submaster outputs and into the computer.

I also want to bring my software tracks through the desk from my computer to give them a bit of sparkle. Not sure but do i bring the 8 outs on my interface back to 8 line ins on the desk or back through the subgroup inserts on the master section.

The final and most important question i had was about the master outs of the daw(logic). Instead of bringing my main outs straight to my monitors i would like to bring them through the console. Do i bring them through 2 spare tracks to hear them through the desk along with what im tracking or through the master ins.

Cheers in advance
Old 20th December 2010
Gear Maniac
Am guessing no one out there uses the toft....
Old 20th December 2010
Gear Nut

I just think you asked too many questions all at once. The first thing you need to do is download the manual, figure out the signal flow of how you specifically want to work with the console and then draw it all out.

Generally, you would have either the groups or the direct outs(or both) connected to the inputs of your A/D converters. Then you would have the outputs of your converters going to the monitor ins on the console( these are separate channels on the console with separate volume controls specifically for hearing back what you recorded.) Then your monitors would be connected to the consoles CR outputs.

But when all else fails, RTFM thumbsup
Old 20th December 2010
Gear Maniac
Cheers for that.