The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Noob console, Pre's, and convertor selection help. Condenser Microphones
Old 18th December 2010
Here for the gear

Noob console, Pre's, and convertor selection help.

Hi, new slut here. I'm also learning the engineering craft. I would like to thank everyone, and anyone who's posts I've read off of this site. This is truly one of the best online communities I have ever seen. A lot of truly talented and intelligent people on this board. I'd also like to thank anyone who chimes in on this thread, I really need the help, and it is much appreciated.

I'll start by painting the scene here in Kansas City. I'm a professional upright and electric bassist with 20 years experience playing mostly jazz. (about half of those years were spent playing in New Orleans and on the east coast.) I have taken a few audio engineering classes in college, taken the logic studio training course (sept 2010, fmc new york), and worked briefly as an intern at a studio.

The knowledge I have about engineering has come mostly from running my own DAW, and Motu 8 pre, within logic, with some basic microphones, doing live recordings at some of my gigs. I have a small 10.5x11.5 studio (which will be used primarily for mixing, which is being treated with a dozen or so 2x4x6" traps. Space is at a premium, I do have a window seat which currently houses my daw, motu, and could be a potential resting spot for monitors. (now they are on stands)